Our lives are like the sea…Ever changing

http://www.favim.com

I would imagine just about everybody has spent some time walking beaches and listening to the ocean. It is restful and quite magical. Our lives are very much like the waves rolling in upon the sand. Each wave that rolls in brings new objects and deposits them upon on the beach: shells, bits of sea glass or sea weed. As the next wave rolls in it brings new treats to leave and wipes away the others. The process is ever-changing and so to are our lives, minute by minute. The beach doesn’t try to hold onto them, it willingly releases them for it knows new ones will be arriving with the next wave. The beach doesn’t question if this is so, it just knows it is and expects it. How wonderful it would be if we could know and expect life to deliver what we need each day, each hour, each moment. It can and it does but are we open to seeing and accepting what we are being given? Every moment of our lives brings new possibilities, new opportunities, and we must be aware of them and open to receiving them or they shall be lost with the next wave that rolls in upon us.

Many, many years ago (I’m aging myself here) I read a book that sat on my parents bookshelf collecting dust. I was magically drawn to that book for some strange reason and when I began to read it I understood why, even though I was only in my early teen years. I was reading the book A Gift From The Sea by Anne Morrow Lindbergh. It has been a favorite of many a reader since 1955 when it was first published. I think it is perhaps one of the most deep yet simple books I have ever read and continue to reread to this day. If you haven’t read it I suggest you give it a go. Well worth your time. An amazing book about life and the part we play in it.

The secret to living a full life is having the ability to remain open to it, no matter what it tosses our way. If something painful crashes in upon us we must not pull back and close up, but rather stay open and look for the lessons this painful experience brings with it like the gifts from the sea laid upon the beach. Each experience we are given comes with a lesson and it is up to us if we will learn them or not. It is the learning of these lessons and letting them go that helps us grow and become strong and more sure of who we are. As we learn our lessons then let them go we gain self-worth and self-esteem, all of which are our roots for a strong foundation to stand upon. We need strong roots to weather the many storms.

The gifts that the sea brings in to Anne Morrow Lindbergh in her book are shells and each shell has a story and reveals to her, her life and what she can get from it. Our lives are full of shells and moments that offer us greater understanding of ourselves if we are willing to take the time to look. Every moment of every day we are faced with decisions and so often we find ourselves fearful of making them. There are NO wrong decisions. Whatever we decide upon is what we were meant to decide upon and that decision will offer us opportunities to grow. Every bad situation spawns goodness as well if we look for it. It is all in how we see it, are we open to the gifts being offered to us or not. Sometimes the gifts wrapping paper is not pretty and does not bring us joy but it always brings us growth!

There is always something more to our lives and it is the eternal searching for that ‘something more’ that keeps life fascinating and exciting and worth living. We all seem to fear change and yet it is the change that brings new gifts and new opportunities to us. If we realize there are no bad decisions, that there is always goodness buried beneath the bad, that it is all about how we look at life, perhaps we will find the courage to live our lives like the waves on the beach, always changing, always finding gifts, always looking for more to enhance who we are. Remain awake and aware and open to all life has to offer. It’s magical.

Blessings to you all,

Visionkeeper

About Visionkeeper

I am a seeker and a visionary with a strong desire to see the world move beyond the darkness and oppression and shift forward into light and higher consciousness. It is my earthly mission to offer hope to the world and awaken the slumbering people so that we may all come together and co-create a loving and compassionate world.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Our lives are like the sea…Ever changing

  1. Visionkeeper says:

    Hi E….It is a fabulous book. Small, short and powerful yet SIMPLE! How much more simple can you get than comparing the stages of our lives to seashells? It is one of the longest running books still being read by many today….For good reason….This book didn’t fall off the shelf for me, but it beckoned me every time I walked past the book shelf. It kept saying pick me up and look at me. I was surprised to find myself reading it. I think I was 14 or so and Nancy Drew and other stuff was holding teens interest. I was also reading Siddhartha, Be Here Now and other such gems…I was obviously on the path way back then…Lucky me 🙂 VK

  2. Eileen says:

    That book sounds interesting VK. It is great when we are guided to books like that.
    Lovely post
    ((hugs))

  3. Pingback: Visionkeeper – Our Lives Are Like The Sea… Ever Changing – 20 September 2012 | Lucas 2012 Infos

Comments are closed.